Tuesday, July 5, 2011

The Bangles Are Back With 'Sweetheart Of The Sun' In September

Southern Cali '80s fave The Bangles are returning with their first album of new material in eight years, Sweetheart of the Sun, Sept. 13. Vocalist Susanna Hoffs, guitarist Vicki Peterson and drummer Debbi Peterson (fourth Bangle Michael Steele has departed) offer a collective theme on the 12 new tracks of "paradise lost" in their home state.

Released on Model Music Group, the album was produced in Hollywood by longtime collaborator Matthew Sweet.

The Bangles dominated the singles chart throughout much of the 1980s with eight top 40 hits: "Eternal Flame," "Manic Monday," "If She Knew What She Wants," "A Hazy Shade of Winter," "Walk Like An Egyptian," "Walking Down Your Street," "In Your Room" and "Be With You." Their last release was 1999's "Get the Girl" for the Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me soundtrack.